Our History

The Shepherdstown Community Club was founded in 1945 as the Shepherdstown Men’s Club to support the civic responsibilities of Shepherdstown and the surrounding towns and counties near Shepherdstown.

In 1947 the Club purchased the old Methodist Episcopal Church, South (built in 1868, occupying Lot 21 of Thomas Shepherd’s original town plat) and renamed it the WAR MEMORIAL BUILDING in recognition of those who  lost their lives in World War II.  As one of the town’s iconic buildings, it hosts dozens of public and private events throughout the year.

To remind us of days past, the Club provided a lifeguard and necessary equipment at the town bathing beach on the Potomac River in 1945! It also held a tin-can drive in support of the World War II effort and initiated Halloween parties for local school children.

In 1990 the Club changed its by-laws to admit women, and in 1998 Maura Brackett became the first woman president of the Club.

The Club celebrated its 50th anniversary in 1995 with a special dinner at the War Memorial Building followed by a performance of “mostly French” music at the Shepherdstown Presbyterian Church.

In 2012 the Shepherdstown Men’s Club changed its name to the Shepherdstown Community Club.